Merely Mortal

By Michelle M. Pillow

A gripping new first-person POV urban fantasy romance series by NY Times and USA Today bestselling author, Michelle M. Pillow.

All I want is a simple, normal life.

Unfortunately, normalcy is a luxury I can’t afford as a lowly human born into a powerful supernatural family embroiled in magic. They’ve always been quick to remind me that I have an expiration date. Imagine everyone’s surprise when it’s me standing above their graves, not the other way around.

The fire that took their lives wasn’t my fault, yet everyone is blaming me, especially the vampires. Now I have a target on my back and a bounty on my head. Without the protection of my family, I’m caught up in a tangled web of supernatural dynasties and arcane power struggles.

So when a handsome stranger and his young daughter take pity on me and offer me a ride, I don’t say no. It’s a mistake. One I hope doesn’t cost us all our lives.

Sometimes, being merely mortal really sucks.

 

Prepare for an exhilarating journey of magic, power struggles, and forbidden love like never before! Inspired by the author’s short novella, Merely Mortal. (Inspired by, but COMPLETELY different!) This book ends on a cliffhanger, but don’t fret, look for book two: Mostly Shattered.

Recommended for readers who like Carrie Vaughn, Faith Hunter, Jennifer Estep, Lindsay Buroker, Ilona Andrews, and K.F. Breene.

Ebook Buy Links

Click to Buy:

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Amazon CA

Amazon AU

Nook

Kobo

Apple Books

GooglePlay

Michelle’s Bookstore

Review On:

Goodreads Book Page ButtonBookbub Book Page Button

 

Print Buy Links

Signed Print

Michelle’s Bookstore (Coming Soon)

Paperback

Amazon Paperback

BAM

Bookshop

 

Audiobook Buy Links

Coming Soon

Praise for Merely Mortal

Excellent story!

“I was in the edge of my seat for the whole book. Didn’t know who to trust. Didn’t know what was going to happen next. Yes it ends with a cliffhanger but not too much. Can’t wait to read the next book in October. I loved it! Definitely recommend.”

Marie

Goodreads

“Unexpected… So good!!”

LisaC

Bookbub

Coming Soon

Book Details

Print Pages Hours to Read Total Words
570 pages  Hours 108K

 Release Date: 2024/06/25

Is this the previously published anthology novella? NO! It is inspired by the short out-of-print novella, Merely Mortal, but is COMPLETELY different. The story has changed SO MUCH and is better for it. It’s not even the same story. She’s not the same character. This is an idea I have been playing with and planning for years. In fact, feel free to forget I did that novella, lol.

Length? Long Novel

Cliffhanger? This book ends on a cliffhanger, but don’t fret, go look for book two: Mostly Shattered.

Will there be more books? YES!

POV: First Person

Recommended for readers who like: Carrie Vaughn, Faith Hunter, Jennifer Estep, Lindsay Buroker, Ilona Andrews, and K.F. Breene.

This is a new writing style for you. Why should I try it? 

I am beyond thrilled to share my latest book, Merely Mortal! This is the first in a brand-new series that I have poured my heart and soul into, and I can’t wait for you to dive into Tamara’s world.

The Merely Mortal Series is a bit of a departure from my usual writing style. This time, I’ve embraced a more personal, first-person perspective to bring you closer to the heart and mind of our heroine, Tamara. Navigating a perilous supernatural society as a mortal, Tamara’s journey is filled with forbidden love, dark family secrets, and the quest for identity amidst magic and danger.

Writing this book has been an incredible adventure, and I hope you find it just as enthralling to read as it was for me to create. Your support means the world to me, and I am so excited to embark on this new series with you.

For fans of my work, you know my storytelling and, hopefully, trust that I will take you down an amazing journey.  For new-to-me readers, if you love urban fantasy, paranormal romance, or supernatural mysteries, this is right up your alley!

I honestly think this might be one of my best books yet.

Thank you for being part of this journey!

Michelle M. Pillow

Merely Mortal Reading Order:

Coming Soon

“Merely Mortal” by Michelle M. Pillow contains potential triggers that readers might want to be aware of before diving into the book:

  • Death and Loss: The story involves tragic incidents related to Tamara’s supernatural family.
  • Violence
  • Betrayal and Trust Issues
  • Supernatural Peril
  • Emotional Turmoil
  • Power Dynamics and Coercion: The power dynamics between mortals and supernaturals, including coercion or manipulation.
  • Identity and Existential Crisis: Themes of struggling with one’s identity and place in the world, particularly when feeling out of place or pressured by family expectations.

CW: Michelle M. Pillow’s books contain adult subject matter, graphic violence, and are not suitable for all audiences. 

Book Heal Levels: Sweet Sensual

Genre:
  • Urban Fantasy
  • Paranormal Romance
  • Supernatural Mystery and Suspense
  • Supernatural Thriller Elements
  • New Adult
Tropes:
  • Strong Female Protagonist
  • Slow Burn
  • Mortal in a Supernatural World
  • Forbidden Love
  • Forced Proximity
  • Mythical Creatures: magics, vampires, wizards, necromancers, werewolves, shapeshifters, fae, trolls, goblins, demons, dragons, and more!
  • Mystical Connection
  • Family Legacy and Dark Family Secrets
  • Supernatural Bureaucracy
  • Protective Lover
  • Emotional Turmoil and Vulnerability
  • Supernatural Conspiracies and Conflict
  • Hidden World Within Our World
  • Magic in the Mundane
  • Opposites Attract
  • Rescue Romance Tropes
  • The Chosen One
Themes:
  • Identity and Belonging
  • Transformation
  • Mortality vs. Immortality
  • Family Legacy and Expectations
  • Power Dynamics
  • Trust
  • Love and Romance
  • Isolation and Connection
  • Autonomy and Self-Determination
  • Good vs. Evil

Romantic Urban Fantasy, First Person POV

Merely Mortal (Merely Mortal Book 1)

Merely Mortal

Coming Soon Book by Michelle M. Pillow

Barely Breathing

Coming Soon Book by Michelle M. Pillow

Nearly Dead 

Recognition and Reviews

Excellent story! … It’s dark, scary and Tamara seemed really damaged. Wow! The more I read the more I liked her. I was in the edge of my seat for the whole book. Didn’t know who to trust. Didn’t know what was going to happen next. Yes it ends with a cliffhanger but not too much. Can’t wait to read the next book in October. I loved it! Definitely recommend.” – Marie, Goodreads (2024)

Skip to content